Vamshidhar Kommineni

April 25, 2007

Post to Windows Live Writer from Sharp Reader

Filed under: Technology — Vamshi @ 12:50 am

Windows Live Writer (WLW) is definitely my favorite blogging client and I’ve moved back to Sharp Reader from Outlook (stopping at Google Reader and RSS Bandit on the way, but more on that in a different post) as my main RSS reader. I was looking around for a way to post directly from Sharp Reader to WLW when I found this page about Sharp Reader plugins:

http://www.sharpreader.net/plugins.html

Which led me to the IBlogExtension standard:

http://www.pocketsoap.com/weblog/stories/2003/04/0023.html

which led me here and finally to here: 

http://www.codeplex.com/Wiki/View.aspx?ProjectName=rssbandit2wlw

Though developed for RSS Bandit, the plugin works like a charm with Sharp Reader saving me a bunch of time when I want to post about something I’ve read. A few nifty things here:

  • The IBlogExtension standard that different RSS readers including Sharp Reader chose to respect
  • Steve Kaschimer for implementing the plugin and making the code available so I muck about with a private copy if I wanted to
  • Actually being able to find this stuff because of persisted blog posts (one of the main uses of blog posts in my opinion is the creation and persistence of user knowledge)
Technorati tags: , ,

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

